Specialized courses

In addition to the traditional remote first aid courses, SIRIUSMEDx offers a variety of specialized courses that complement the first aid course. The modular design allows you to create a customized course by selecting the modules that are appropriate for your area of focus. Courses can also be modified or adapted to meet the specific requirements or needs of each client. Most of these courses are not offered to the public outright, so don't be surprised if you don't find them on the course calendar... Most of the time, you need to let us know that you are interested so that we can coordinate these courses for your group.

Contact us to learn more about our customized training

However, some modules are accessible at all times as they are online modules, such as our latest addition, the COVID-19 Rescue Booster Module.

Rescue during the COVID-19

Are you concerned about being a first aider during the pandemic?

Are you concerned about being a first responder during the pandemic? This add-on module provides exposure to the various concepts surrounding COVID-19 in a workplace context. Workers and managers will use this training to acquire knowledge about COVID-19 and to learn more about the measures to put in place to promote prevention and reduce the risks associated with a contamination.

COURSE OUTLINE

Type : Online lesson

Approximate duration : 30 min

Prerequisite: None

Cost: 30$

Registering !

Wilderness Readiness and Survival (WRS1, WRS2, WRS3)

The customized program focuses on the principles of survival in remote areas of Canada. Participants gain in-depth knowledge of the preparations required and the essential skills to respond to a variety of emergency situations in remote areas. Learning takes place through discussions, demonstrations, hands-on activities, and simulations. The format and content of the course is developed in collaboration with the client to meet the specific needs of the participants.

Course type: In-person

Duration:  8h (WR1), 16h (WR2) or 24h (WR3), according to the client needs.

Prerequisite:  None, but a Wilderness First Aid training (WFA-20h) is recommended, either before or after this module.


Arctic Survival (AS)
  • The AS course participant acquires knowledge related to the management of accidents and illnesses inherent to the wilderness and Arctic environment. Topics are covered with an emphasis on accident prevention, practical skills, decision making, and management of environmental conditions. Through hands-on workshops, participants will also cover the basic components of safety in wilderness areas, survival and trip planning.


    Course type: In-person


    Duration: 1 or to 2 days, according to the client needs.

  • Prerequisite:   None, but a Wilderness First Aid training (WFA-20h) is recommended, either before or after this module.

Risk management (RM)
  • Risk Management Module is a module offering individuals and organizations the possibility to learn the essential tools to create or improve their Risk Management strategies. It is a course with discussion and focused group exercises to apply the theory of risk management into concrete plans, documentations and actions useable within the participants' workplace. 


  • Topics include risk management culture and objectives, analysis of current structure in place, legal aspects, risk analysis, emergency response plans, and action planning. 


  • The first day of the training focuses on the individuals in charge of developing and maintaining a risk management program while the second day is dedicated to training field staff to apply and contribute to the risk management vision.  


    Course type: In-Person training


    Duration : 2 days


    Prerequisite:  None

Firearms: Use and Safety (FA)

The FA course participant has covered all aspects related carrying of firearms in a wildlife defense context.  The course curriculum includes firearms manipulation and use, basic safety instructions, wildlife detection and observation, firearms users’ responsibilities, storage and transportation of firearms, and practical shooting exercises.  

Course type: In-Person

Duration : 1 ou 2 jours, selon les besoins du client

Prerequisite:  Bear Safety and Prevention (BS) or Wildlife Predators Defense (WPD)

Bear Safety and Prevention (BS)
Participants in the Bear Safety and Prevention Course learn that preparation is the key to preventing dangerous encounters!  They will learn to recognize habitats and hazards as well as different species, plan their trips and observe and understand the language of bears.

Course type: In-Person

Duration: 8h

Prerequisite:  None

The certificate is valid for three years. SIRIUSMEDx issues a digital certification recognizing your learning.
Wildlife Predators Defense (WPD)

Wildlife Predator Defense training provides those who work in remote regions with an in-depth understanding of the habitat and behavior of wild animals in various regions of Canada and the North.

Through theoretical and practical sessions, participants learn to anticipate, prevent and respond to encounters with potential predators.

Special emphasis is given to hazard evaluation, risk management, prevention of injury, and practice.

Course type: In-Person

Duration : 8h

Prerequisite:  None

The certificate is valid for three years. SIRIUSMEDx issues a digital certificate recognizing your learning.

 Download the course outline:    French  English

GPS and Navigation (GPS)

This custom program is specially designed for geologists, researchers, and field staff who require a solid foundation in the use of the Global Positioning System (GPS) technology.


The program involves practical exercises and outdoor activities.


Students will be provided with GPS units for the duration of the course, as well as instruction manuals, workbooks, and all teaching materials.
 

Course type: In-Person

Duration: 4h

Prerequisite:  None

Map and Compass (MC)

The Map and Compass training is a program tailored to your needs and is specially designed for field professionals. 

The participant will learn map reading and how to find their way with a map and compass, in case the technological tools are not available or become non-functional. The program requires practical exercises and outdoor activities.

Students will be provided with maps and compasses for the duration of the course, as well as instruction manuals, participant workbooks, and course materials.

Course type: In-Person

Duration: 4h

Prerequisite:  None


Search and rescue (SR1, SR2)

Search and Rescue training is available in basic (SR1) or advanced (SR2) versions. 

The participant will be educated on the legal implications of a SAR operation in the field, before being trained on the search operations themselves and the basics of navigation (GPS, map, compass). Basic training is intended for any volunteer participating in such an operation, while advanced training is appropriate for coordinators.

Course type: In-Person

Duration: 8h (SAR1), 16h (SAR2)

Prerequisite:  None, but a Wilderness First Aid training (WFA-20h) is recommended, either before or after this module.


Oxygen administration (AO)

This course designed for diving enthusiasts combines a CPR-AED module for the public, Level A (Adult and child), and the notions of oxygen administration.  The participant will learn to understand the vital systems of the human body to be able to respond to diving and/or submersion incidents. 

Course type: In-Person

Duration: 4h (oxygen administration only) or 8h (full course)

Prerequisite:
- Oxygen administration module only (4h): have a valid CPR certification
- Complete module (oxygen administration and CPR-AED): None


Sutures and Injections (SUT)

The Stitches and Injections module is a 4-hour hands-on workshop offered as part of the SIRIUSMEDx specialty course series. 

Supervised by a physician, this advanced workshop for wilderness care includes stitches and muscle injections. This module is a practical workshop in which participants learn or review their suturing techniques. However, at the end of the 4 hours, the module does not allow a non-health professional to perform reserved medical procedures, such as muscle injections or suturing.  There is no evaluation or examination at the end of this module.

Course type: in Person training

Duration : 4h

Prerequisite: Being a health professional or Wilderness First Responder (WFR-80h)   

Cost:  100$

Cours spécialisés | SIRIUSMEDx



Cours spécialisés

En plus des cours de secourisme en régions isolées traditionnels, SIRIUSMEDx offre une panoplie de cours spécialisés complémentaires au cours de secourisme. La conception par modules vous permet de créer un cours sur mesure en sélectionnant les modules qui conviennent à votre domaine d’action. Les formations peuvent aussi être modifiées ou adaptées afin de répondre aux exigences ou aux besoins particuliers de chaque client. La majorité de ces formations ne sont pas offertes au public d’emblée, alors ne vous étonnez pas de ne pas les retrouver au calendrier de cours… Il faut le plus souvent nous signifier votre intérêt afin que l’on coordonne ces formations pour votre groupe.

Contactez-nous pour en apprendre plus sur nos formations sur mesure

Quelques modules sont toutefois accessibles en tout temps puisque ce sont des modules en ligne, comme notre toute dernière addition, le module d’appoint Secourir pendant la COVID-19.

Secourir pendant la COVID-19

Intervenir comme secouriste pendant la pandémie vous inquiète?

Ce module d’appoint permet une exposition aux différentes notions entourant la COVID-19 dans un contexte de travail. Les travailleurs et les gestionnaires utiliseront cette formation pour acquérir des connaissances relatives à la COVID-19 ainsi qu’en apprendre plus sur les mesures à mettre en place pour favoriser la prévention ainsi que la diminution des risques associés à une contamination.

PLAN DE COURS

Type : Module en ligne

Durée approx : 30 minutes

Prérequis : aucun

Coût : 30$

Je m'inscris !

Autonomie en régions isolées (ARI1, ARI2, ARI3)

Le programme sur mesure porte sur les principes de survie dans les régions isolées canadiennes. Les participants acquièrent des connaissances approfondies sur les préparatifs requis et les compétences essentielles pour répondre à une variété de situations d’urgence en milieu isolé. L’apprentissage se fait sous forme de discussions, de démonstrations, d’activités pratiques et de simulations. Le format et le contenu du cours sont développés en collaboration avec le client afin de répondre aux besoins particuliers des participants.

Type:  En personne

Durée:  8h (ARI1), 16h (ARI2) ou 24h (ARI3), selon les besoins du client

Prérequis :   Aucun, mais il est recommandé de faire Secourisme en régions isolées (SRI-20h), soit avant ou après ce module.


Survie en milieu arctique (SA)
  • Le participant du cours de survie en millieu arctique acquiert des connaissances liées à la gestion d'accidents et maladies inhérentes au milieu isolé et à l'environnement arctique. Les sujets sont couverts avec une emphase sur la prévention des accidents, les habiletés pratiques, la prise de décision et la gestion des conditions environnementales. À travers des ateliers pratiques, les participants couvriront également les composantes de base de la sécurité en région isolée, de la survie et de la préparation des voyages.


    Type: Formation en personne


    Durée: 1 ou 2 jours, selon les besoins du client

  • Prérequis :   Aucun, mais il est recommandé de faire Secourisme en régions isolées (SRI-20h), soit avant ou après ce module.

Gestion de risques (GR)
  • Le module de gestion des risques est un module qui offre aux individus et aux organisations la possibilité d'apprendre les outils essentiels pour créer ou améliorer leurs stratégies de gestion des risques. Il s'agit d'un cours avec discussions et exercices de groupe ciblés pour appliquer la théorie de la gestion des risques dans des plans, des documentations et des actions concrètes utilisables sur le lieu de travail des participants.


  • Les sujets abordés comprennent la culture et les objectifs de la gestion des risques, l'analyse de la structure actuelle en place, les aspects juridiques, l'analyse des risques, les plans d'intervention d'urgence et la planification des actions.


  • Le premier jour de la formation se concentre sur les personnes chargées d'élaborer et de maintenir un programme de gestion des risques, tandis que le deuxième jour est consacré à la formation du personnel de terrain pour qu'il applique et contribue à la vision de la gestion des risques. 


    Type : Formation en personne


    Durée : 2 jours


    Prérequis :  Aucun

Armes à feu : sécurité et pratique (AF)

Ce cours couvre tous les aspects reliés au port d’armes à feu pour déprédation. Le contenu couvre le maniement et l’utilisation des armes à feu, les consignes élémentaires de sécurité, la détection et l’observation des animaux, les responsabilités des utilisateurs, l’entreposage et le transport des armes, et des exercices de tir.  

Type : Formation en personne

Durée : 1 ou 2 jours, selon les besoins du client

Prérequis :  Sécurité et prévention avec les ours (SO) ou Défense contre les prédateurs sauvages (DPS)

Sécurité et prévention avec les ours (SO)
Le participant du cours de sécurité et prévention avec les ours apprend que la préparation est la clé pour prévenir les rencontres dangereuses!  Il apprendra à reconnaître les habitats et les risques de même que les différentes espèces, à planifier ses déplacements et à observer et comprendre le langage des ours.

Type: Formation en personne

Durée: 8h

Prérequis :  Aucun

L’attestation est valable pendant  trois ans . SIRIUSMEDx émet une certification numérique reconnaissant votre apprentissage.
Défense contre les prédateurs sauvages (DPS)

La formation de défense contre les prédateurs sauvages : sécurité et prévention offre aux individus qui travaillent en régions isolées une compréhension approfondie de l’habitat et du comportement des prédateurs sauvages dans diverses régions du Canada et du Nord.

À travers des présentations théoriques et des séances pratiques, les participants apprendront comment anticiper, prévenir et répondre à des rencontres avec des prédateurs potentiels.

La formation met l’accent sur l’évaluation des risques et dangers et les habiletés pratiques.  

Type : Formation en personne

Durée : 8h

Prérequis :  Aucun

L’attestation est valable pendant  trois ans . SIRIUSMEDx émet une certification numérique reconnaissant votre apprentissage.

 Téléchargez le plan de cours:    Français           Anglais 

GPS et navigation (GPS)

Ce programme sur mesure est spécialement conçu pour les géologues, agents de recherche et agents de terrain qui ont besoin d’une base solide quant à l’usage de la technologie du Système de Positionnement Global (GPS).

Le programme exige des exercices pratiques et des activités extérieures.

Les étudiants se verront fournir des unités GPS pour la durée du cours, de même que des manuels d’instruction, cahier du participant et matériel pédagogique.

Type: Formation en personne

Durée: 4h

Prérequis:  Aucun

Carte et boussole (CB)

La formation de carte et boussole est un programme fait sur mesure selon  vos besoins et est spécialement conçu pour les professionnels du terrain. 

Le participant apprendra notamment la lecture de cartes et comment se repérer avec carte et boussole, dans le cas où les outils technologiques ne sont pas disponibles ou deviennent non fonctionnels. Le programme exige des exercices pratiques et des activités extérieures.

Les étudiants se verront fournir des cartes et des boussoles pour la durée du cours, de même que des manuels d’instruction, cahier du participant et matériel pédagogique.

Type: Formation en personne

Durée: 4h

Prérequis:  Aucun


Recherche et sauvetage (RS1, RS2)

La formation de recherche et sauvetage est offerte en version de base (RS1) ou avancée (RS2).  Le participant sera sensibilisé aux implications légales d’une opération de RS sur le terrain, avant d’être formé sur les opérations de recherche elles-mêmes et les bases de la navigation (GPS, carte, boussole). Une formation de base vise tout bénévole qui participe à une telle opération, alors que la formation avancée est à propos pour les coordonnateurs.

Type: Formation en personne

Durée: 8h (RS1), 16h (RS2)

Prérequis:  Aucun, mais il est recommandé de faire Secourisme en régions isolées (SRI-20h), soit avant ou après ce module.


Administration d'oxygène (AO)

Ce cours conçu pour les adeptes de plongée allie un module RCR-DEA grand public, Niveau A (Adulte et enfant) et les notions propres à l’administration d’oxygène.  Le participant apprendra à comprendre les systèmes vitaux du corps humains afin d’être en mesure d’intervenir lors d’incidents de plongée et/ou de submersion. 

Type: Formation en personne

Durée: 4h (administration d'oxygène seulement) ou 8h (cours complet)

Prérequis: 
- Module d'administration d'oxygène seulement (4h): avoir une certification de RCR valide
- Module complet (administration d'oxyène et RCR-DEA): Aucun


Sutures et infections (SUT)

Le module Sutures et Injections est un atelier pratique de 4 heures offert au sein de la série de cours spécialisés SIRIUSMEDx. 

Supervisé par un médecin, cet atelier de perfectionnement pour soins en milieux isolées comprend: Suture, Injections musculaires. Ce module se veut un atelier pratique de perfectionnement dans lequel les participants apprennent ou révisent leur technique de suture. Le module ne permet toutefois pas, à la fin des 4 heures, à un non-professionnel de la santé d'exercer des actes médicaux réservés, telles les injections musculaires ou la réalisation de sutures. Il n'y a pas d'évaluation ou d'examen à la fin de ce module.

Type : Formation en personne

Durée : 4h

Prérequis:  Être un professionnel de la santé OU premier intervenant en régions isolées (PIRI-80h)   

Coût:  100$